Compliance

Due to the high complexity of legal and regulatory requirements, the topic compliance became increasingly relevant to companies within every industry sector. This particularly applies to companies being active in an international context, that need to follow specific requirements and obligations and are as such exposed to higher risks with potentially drastic consequences. In the interest of its members, clients and business partners, CGCIC and its Board of Directors therefore take this challenge very seriously.
Compliance describes internal company measures, that ensure a lawful conduct of the management and the employees of a company in accordance with all applicable laws and internal guidelines. A Compliance Management System should furthermore aim to enforce an effective monitoring and control mechanism for a lawful behaviour of all employees. Last, it shall ensure that the management is equipped with the proper instruments to react to potential violations.
In order to achieve these objectives, CGCIC and its Board of Directors established a comprehensive set of internal company policies that cover the applicable laws to provide all employees and the management with reliable instructions for all areas of CGCIC’s day-to-day activities, thus ensuring a higher degree of protection against legal risks.
CGCIC’s internal policies established a reporting mechanism that ensures all occurrences within the company are reported to the management in a timely manner. Furthermore, the Audit Committee of CGCIC’s Board of Directors will regularly address the company’s compliance, whereby the established company policies will be reviewed by an independent audit firm on a regular basis.

Compliance

Auf Grund der steigenden Komplexität gesetzlicher und regulatorischer Rahmenbedingungen wird das Thema Compliance für Unternehmen immer bedeutsamer. Dies gilt umso mehr im internationalen Rechts- und Wirtschaftsverkehr, wo sich einzuhaltende Pflichten und damit verbundene Risiken bisweilen multiplizieren können. Im Interesse ihrer Mitglieder, Kunden und Geschäftspartnern nehmen die AHK Kanada und ihr Vorstand diese Herausforderungen sehr ernst.
Der Begriff Compliance beschreibt unternehmensinterne Maßnahmen, die es zum Ziel haben, dass Mitarbeiter und Management im Einklang mit der Rechtsordnung sowie in Übereinstimmung mit Unternehmensrichtlinien arbeiten. Mit einem Compliance Management System soll darüber hinaus sichergestellt werden, dass das rechtskonforme Handeln aller Mitarbeiter kontrolliert wird und auf eventuelle Normverstöße angemessen reagiert werden kann.
Um diesen Zielen gerecht zu werden, haben Vorstand und Management der AHK Kanada ein umfangreiches unternehmensinternes Regelwerk geschaffen, das die anwendbaren Rechtsnormen berücksichtigt, Mitarbeitern und Management in allen Bereichen der täglichen Arbeit verlässliche Vorgaben macht und so für ein hohes Maß an Rechts- und Handlungssicherheit sorgt.
Die unternehmensinternen Richtlinien sehen darüber hinaus Berichtsvorschriften vor, die sicherstellen, dass das Management zeitnah über wesentliche Vorgänge im Unternehmen unterrichtet wird. Das Audit Committee des Vorstandes der AHK Kanada setzt sich überdies regelmäßig mit dem Thema Compliance auseinander, wobei einzelne Richtlinien in fest definierten, regelmäßigen Abständen von einer unabhängigen Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft auf Ihre Einhaltung und Konformität überprüft werden.